Cinema

“Cinema, radio, television, magazines are a school of inattention: people look without seeing, listen in without hearing” – Robert Bresson

I love cinema. Though I won’t claim that I eat, breathe and sleep cinema; I can very well do that on any given weekend. I think what fascinates me the most in the movies is the art and craft of transforming the written word ( a script) into the world of motion where life like characters act, enact and perform with the perfect companionship of music, make up, art and cinematography. What most of us seldom realize is that it definitely takes a whole lot of pain, sweat and even blood and tears to make that transformation.

The medium of cinema is so powerful and the art of making it is so mesmerizing. It has the ability to touch your soul by allowing you to see the world through another person’s point of view. Even conversations, books and paintings would at times fail to convey a message in a simple and powerful manner as done by cinema.

Over the years, cinema has divided society; captured history; gave life to unsung heroes; united various peoples of different worldviews; artified life at its different episodes, challenged norms and even questioned the meaning of everything. I’m drawn to this lesser known power of cinema. I cherish those moments when one is still dazed or even haunted by the various thought processes a cinema showcases.

Over here, in this category I’m recording all those wonderful movies (without any specific order) that have touched me very deeply and have opened yet another window in my heart and brain (emotion and logic) to something I thought I never knew. It’s also a tribute to the wonderfully talented film makers of our world. Long live cinema!! Long live stories!!

~ by rb on July 10, 2008.

5 Responses to “Cinema”

  1. I am proud & very much thankful to you for inspiring me to watch some good foreign movies.
    You have made me realize the hard work & creativity behind a movie & also how to look at a movie with a particular view.

  2. So… what are we waiting for? Let’s make movie!!! I’ll direct, you produce!!

  3. […] – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by jonathan8119 on 2008-11-11 Cinema https://hopelesslyflawed.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/cinema/ – bookmarked by 3 members originally […]

  4. Very curious and helpful blog. I thank and I salute.

Leave a Reply

 
