Mumbai, maligned

in-memory

Slowly, I gather the will to write about something that has hurt my conscience for the past few days. I don’t know why such barbaric occurrences keep happening in my city and in my country. Sometimes, I think it’s just unacceptable. It’s just too much to bear. As an ordinary citizen, I fail to understand the motives behind such events and its repercussions. Ironically, at times I could exactly predict how these occurrences will shape up things and thoughts, at least for some time to come.

A blast or an attack. The dead. The casualties. The uninterrupted coverage by the media, sensationalizing any thing and everything that they could capture – whether its blood stains, live bombs, empty streets or dog shit. The inability of the cops to solve the case. War of words by the politicians. A committee. Compensation. A few unsung heroes. News debates attended by page three socialites (who don’t even know what their kids are up to). A few blame games. And finally – a movie on the event – well endorsed and appreciated by the critics and the masses.

That’s the state of things in my city. And I wonder whether it will be the case, this time around too?

~ by rb on December 2, 2008.

One Response to “Mumbai, maligned”

  1. very true… that’s exactly what happens everytime.. hope doesnt’ repeat now..

Leave a Reply

 
