Twenty six / eleven

I think it has got to do with culture. When I say ‘culture’, I refer to the common values, beliefs and attitudes that are shared and practiced by a set of individuals or society. Culture has undergone major shifts across the world and especially during these postmodern era, it has become all the more subjective and relative in its usage and application. The time has long ceased when there used to exist a certain “gate keepers” or “guardians” of the culture of a particular civilization.

In the absence or disappearance rather of a strong counter culture, every act of expression in reaction to a disastrous event is gleefully embraced. And acknowledged. I must admit that somewhere in between I am lost.

The rise and rise of consumerism has taught all of us that anything and everything can be purchased at a given price and to partake/possess any kind of experience, it is important for us to make sure that we find satisfaction in things we pay for.

So we go shopping. For love, attention, friendship, sympathy and even patriotism. We go to such an extent that we would make ourselves believe that buying a mug with blood stains or the national flag embedded in it is actually a great thing to do.

We get carried away by such banal observances and in the bargain forget the actual context and ramifications of an event, as horrific and disturbing as 26/11. If I would have lost my father or mother or sister in such an attack, I would not buy a blood stained mug for myself. If I would have lost my father or mother or sister in such an attack, I would not attend a mass gathering of people trying to make a point. If I would have lost my father or mother or sister in such an attack, I would not wear a white pair of dress to parade my concern.

Like many an ordinary day, I would have just offered a silent prayer in private. And wished that my father or mother or sister would have lived to see one more day.  One more year.

 

~ by rb on November 26, 2009.

One Response to “Twenty six / eleven”

  1. […] streets of Mumbai. So, I chose to offer a silent prayer. My take on twenty six eleven is published here. And I’m being frank about admitting the fact that on any given day I care more about my […]

Leave a Reply

 
