Damned if you do. Damned if you don’t.

There comes a point in your life where the ‘routine’ is more important to you than the ‘new’. You wake up to the same alarm every morning, you end up doing the same things every day, your weekends are spent with the same kind of people, doing the same kind of things. To your surprise, the society puts you in the spot light for not being a conformist and the same kind of questions pop up in every social gathering. You realize that somewhere in your growing years, even you (knowingly or unknowingly) questioned people who didn’t conform to any norms then. And then you look at yourself and try to ask some profound questions to yourself. The answers to those questions are not easy. And you take comfort in the fact that some of us never find answers to all the profound questions that we may have in a lifetime. For it is easy to ask. And not so easy to find the answers. Being a man, you are supposed to have answers if not questions. Answers to big questions. Small questions. Profound questions. The pressure to answer and the pressure to perform may be the only real answers. Because ‘knowing’ is not everything. ‘Trying’ is not everything. ‘Doing’ is everything. They say, “Try not. Do. Or do not. There is no try.” For lack of a better word you will always be surrounded by “knowers” and “tryers”. Because there are very few “doers”. And all doers live by the same code – damned if you do.. damned if you don’t.

So you do. I do. We all do.

I do the routine. I wake up to the same alarm every morning, I end up doing the same things every day, my weekends are spent with the same kind of people, doing the same kind of things. To my surprise, the society puts me in the spot light for doing what I believ in and the same kind of questions pop up in every social gathering. I realize that somewhere in my growing years, even I (knowingly or unknowingly) questioned people who did what they believed in. And then I look at myself and try to ask some profound questions to myself. The answers to those questions are not easy. And I take comfort in the fact that some of us never find answers to all the profound questions that we may have in a lifetime. For it is easy to ask. And not so easy to find the answers. Being a man, I’m supposed to have answers if not questions. Answers to big questions. Small questions. Profound questions. The pressure to answer and the pressure to perform may be the only real answers. Because ‘knowing’ is not everything. ‘Trying’ is not everything. ‘Doing’ is everything. They say, “Try not. Do. Or do not. There is no try.” For lack of a better word I will always be surrounded by “knowers” and “tryers”. Because there are very few “doers”. And all doers live by the same code – damned if you do.. damned if you don’t.

~ by rb on October 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
